Dropbox Now Lets You Rename or Move Shared Files Without Breaking Links

Dropbox Now Lets You Rename or Move Shared Files Without Breaking Linksif you proportion documents thru Dropbox, you need to be extra cautious. transferring the report or renaming it’s going to no longer make it private. which means you’ll must both delete the report altogether from Dropbox or recall to cast off the hyperlink manually.

Dropbox, which has 500 million registered users, is implementing this variation in phases. You should get an e-mail from Dropbox explaining this if it’s been enabled for your account. while you could start using the brand new characteristic – and rename or relocate shared files with out breaking links – it is really worth noting that this could nevertheless break hyperlinks for people who you’ve got shared the links with in the event that they haven’t yet obtained the characteristic. Dropbox says so in a weblog submit, “we can slowly roll out this new shared hyperlink functionality to all users. understand that all through this phased rollout different customers may have a extraordinary revel in with shared links than you.”

while this will appear to be an needless problem, the characteristic does permit for better employer in shared folders. if you need to move files around, restructure folders, or maybe trade the naming scheme on a group of documents, you can now do this with out breaking hyperlinks for every person. it’s been a long time coming, however the new feature does replace the slightly crude manner wherein shared hyperlinks labored all this at the same time as.

in case you’re concerned about the safety of your shared files, you can review all your shared documents in this page. just click the X button next to any record, after which click Delete link to stop sharing it. for the time being shared hyperlinks can’t be removed from cell gadgets. you may must use a computer to do away with these.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *